Highway Districts

Brief descriptions of highway district locations and the cities and major highways they contain. The six districts run roughly east to west. Interstate 90 runs east-west across the state, through multiple districts.
District Description Major Highways
District 1 Western-most district, including the Berkshires, Pittsfield, Great Barrington Route 7
District 2 West-central distict, including Springfield Metro Area, Pioneer Valley, Quabbin Reservoir Interstate 91; Route 202
District 3 Central district, including Worcester Metro Area, Leominster, Southbridge, Framingham Interstates 190, 290, and 395
District 4 Northeast district, including North Shore, Lowell, Lawrence, Salem, Arlington, Medford Portions of Interstates 93 and 95
District 5 Southeast district, including Cape Cod and islands, Brockton, Taunton, Fall River, New Bedford, Hingham, Plymouth Portions of Interstate 495 and 195; Routes 44 and 6
District 6 Metro Boston district; including Winthrop, Dorchester, Newton, Needham, Wellesley, Dover, Weymoth Portions of Interstates 93 and 95